Posted by: helpforyourenglish | March 18, 2011

Writing a cover letter

When you apply for a job you might have to complete an application form or you might have to send a CV (called a “resume” in American English). When you send a CV, you should also send a short letter. This letter is called a cover letter.

A good cover letter will make the employer want to read your CV in detail.

A good cover letter and CV will make the employer want to interview you.

Cover letters
……

The language in a cover letter should be formal and polite.  A cover letter should not be too long. One page is usually enough. In your cover letter you should:

  • say why you are writing (1)
  • mention your experience  (2)
  • mention your skills and personality traits (3)
  • mention your qualifications (4)
  • explain why you are qualified for the job (5)
  • encourage the employer to contact you (6)

It is also usually a good idea to say why you are interested in the job. (7)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..….…………….….

An example cover letter

Sally Bloggs

123 Any Road

London

England

17 March 2011

……

Mr Rodney Smith

Personnel manager

ABC Enterprises Limited

London

…….

Dear Mr Smith,

I read your recent advertisement in the Evening Star for an administration officer in your Canary Road office and I would like to apply for a position. (1)

I have nine years experience working as an administration officer in a busy office in London in a similar type of company. In my current position, I am the coordinator for the organisation of conferences, meetings and other events and I am currently the senior person in charge of the computerised office system and software in the company. (2)

I am a dedicated employee and I have excellent interpersonal skills as well as strong presentation and reporting skills. I am highly skilled in using office based computer systems. I am reliable and I’m always polite with staff and customers.  (3)

I have a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from the Open University and I have an NVQ Level 1 certificate in Office Systems Management. (4)

My qualifications, skills and experience match the job specification and I am sure I will fit in well with ABC Enterprises. (5) I would like to join your staff as I have always wanted to work for a large company like ABC. (7)

I enclose my CV for your inspection and I look forward to hearing from you soon. For further details or to arrange an interview you can contact me by phone on (081) 28745658 (mobile) or by email at sally-bloggs@fmail.com (6)

Yours sincerely

Sally Bloggs

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Some useful vocabulary

……….

Qualifications

I have a Bachelor’s degree from Leeds University

I have a BSc from Leeds University

I have a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from Leeds University

I have a Diploma in Education from Bristol Community College

I graduated from Leeds University with a BA in English Literature

I’m a graduate of Leeds University and I have a BA in English Literature

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Experience

I have three years experience working in the tourist industry

I have a lot of experience working with children

I am an experienced computer technician

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Skills and personality

I am punctual and hard-working. I am reliable. I am confident and outgoing. (adjectives with ‘be‘)

I am a dedicated worker. I am highly skilled technician.  (adjectives and nouns)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………


Leave a Reply

Categories

