Posted by: helpforyourenglish | March 4, 2011

Lemon tree song

Here is a nice song called ‘Lemon Tree‘.

Vocabulary help:

lad = boy/young boy
beneath = under

Listen to the song and fill in the missing words from the words below.

father …… done …….lesson …….true……. love …… stars

When I was just a lad of ten, my father said to me
Come here and take a ………… from the lovely lemon tree
Don’t put your faith in love, my boy, my father said to me
I fear you’ll find that …………… is like the lovely lemon tree
….
Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet
But the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat
Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet
But the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat
….
Beneath the lemon tree one day, my love and I did lie
A girl so sweet that when she smiled the ………… rose in the sky
We passed that summer lost in love beneath the lemon tree
The music of her laughter hid my …………’s words from me
….
Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet
But the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat
Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet
But the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat
….
One day she left without a word; she took away the sun
And in the dark she left behind, I knew what she had …………
She’d left me for another, it’s a common tale but …………
A sadder man but wiser now I sing these words to you
….
Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet
But the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat
Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet
But the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat

Lemon tree, lemon tree
Lemon tree, lemon tree

Song originally sung by Peter, Paul and Mary

Responses

  1. wow this lesson is very nice I will asnwer you by myself

  2. Hello !
    It’s a quite lovely song..
    But I found something!

    This is what you wrote :

    When I was just a lad of ten, my father said to me
    Come here and learn a ………… from the lovely lemon tree

    But in fact, while listening to the song, I noticed that it is :

    When I was just a lad of ten, my father said to me
    Come here dans TAKE a ……. from the lovely lemon tree.

  3. Hello Thessar
    Yes, you are correct. Well spotted! I have now corrected the mistake in the text. Thanks for telling me. 🙂

  4. I LOVE THIS SONG TOO O(∩_∩)O~

  5. Bonjour! I luved this song from the very beginning. Your post was a very warm and inspring read!

  6. Thank you for your comments, Jen, Bird and mony888999.

    I’m glad you liked the song. I like everything about the song: I like lemons, I like the colour of lemons, I like the tune of the song and I like the words. However, I don’t agree with the narrator’s father that lemons are impossible to eat or that love is not (or cannot be) sweet. Finally, the fruit of love is surely our children. 🙂 It’s still a great song.

  7. hello. please check my answer.

    Come here and take a ( lesson) from the lovely lemon tree.

    I fear you’ll find that (love)is like the lovely lemon tree.

    A girl so sweet that when she smiled the ( star)rose in the sky
    We passed that summer lost in love beneath the lemon tree
    The music of her laughter hid my( father’s) words from me

    One day she left without a word; she took away the sun
    And in the dark she left behind, I knew what she had (done)
    She’d left me for another, it’s a common tale but (true).

    Are they correct?
    this is very nice song,Thank you for your lessson.


Leave a Reply

Categories

