Posted by: helpforyourenglish | March 1, 2011

Are you interested in……?

When we talk about our interests we often use the words “interested in” followed by either a noun or a gerund.

1. Examples:

I am interested in sport …………………… [Here the word sport is a noun]

I am interested in playing football. [Here the word playing is a gerund]

[Blue = noun. Green = gerund]

……

2. Here interested is an adjective. If we change the subject, we should change the verb ‘be‘.

Tom is interested in foreign languages

Tom is interested in learning a new language

Mary is very interested in cartoons.

Mary is interested in watching Japanese cartoons.

Mary and Amanda are interested in books.

Sophie and Jade are interested in cooking.

Are you interested in joining the chess club? No. I’m not interested in chess at all.

What kind of things are you interested in?

……

“I’m going shopping. Are you interested?”

‘Interested in going shopping?’

“Yes.”

‘No thanks. I don’t like shopping.’

3. We can make the sentence negative by adding  the word not between the verb ‘be‘ and the word interested.

Mary is not interested in American cartoons.

…    W

4. If we want to change the tense, we change the tense of the verb ‘be’.

When I was at school, I wasn’t interested in history. I thought it was boring.

……

Responses

  1. I learn English with fun here.

    Thanks for your comment. I think you’re a successful gold investor 🙂

  2. What is the difference interest and interested?
    how to use?

  3. Hello Bird

    The word “interest” can have different meanings, but if we look at the meaning used in this blog entry, the difference is the part of speech – noun, verb, adjective, etc.

    ‘interest’ can be a noun or a verb.
    ‘interested’ can be a verb or an adjective.

    Examples:
    a. The boy showed interest in my work [interest is a noun]
    b. I will try to interest the boy in my work [interest is a verb]
    c. The boy is interested in my work [interested is an adjective]
    d. I interested the boy in my work [interested is a verb – past simple tense]

  4. This blog is very useful..
    I know this blog from facebook,
    may I share your article in my blog,
    of course with link to your blog?

    thanks

  5. Hi Rama,
    Yes, you may.


Leave a Reply

Categories

