Posted by: helpforyourenglish | February 17, 2011

Thank you for…

When we want to thank somebody we often give the reason for our thanks. When we do that we use the word “for” followed by the reason. There is one thing to remember. We usually use a gerund or a noun. For example:

Noun

Thanks for your help

Thanks for the invitation

Thank you for a wonderful party

Gerund

Thanks for sharing

Thanks for waiting for me

Thanks for not telling my parents!

Thanks for being a great friend

Please thank your father for taking me to the hospital yesterday

We don’t use a verb.

Thank you for share with me

Thank you for tell me

Here is a song by Abba. It’s called ‘Thank you for the music’

I’m nothing special, in fact I’m a bit of a bore
If I tell a joke, you’ve probably heard it before
But I have a talent, a wonderful thing
‘Cause everyone listens when I start to sing
I’m so grateful and proud
All I want is to sing it out loud

So I say
Thank you for the music, the songs I’m singing
Thanks for all the joy they’re bringing
Who can live without it? I ask in all honesty
What would life be? Without a song or a dance what are we?
So I say thank you for the music
For giving it to me

Mother says I was a dancer before I could walk
She says I began to sing long before I could talk
And I’ve often wondered, how did it all start?
Who found out that nothing can capture a heart
Like a melody can?
Well, whoever it was, I’m a fan

So I say
Thank you for the music, the songs I’m singing
Thanks for all the joy they’re bringing
Who can live without it? I ask in all honesty
What would life be? Without a song or a dance what are we?
So I say thank you for the music
For giving it to me

I’ve been so lucky, I am the girl with golden hair
I wanna sing it out to everybody
What a joy, what a life, what a chance
Thank you for the music, the songs I’m singing
Thanks for all the joy they’re bringing
Who can live without it, I ask in all honesty?
What would life be?
Without a song or a dance what are we?
So I say thank you for the music
For giving it to me
So I say thank you for the music
For giving it to me

Responses

  1. I don’t undestand this part. What am I supposed to do?

    We don’t use a verb.

    Thank you for share with me

    Thank you for tell me

  2. Hi Vanessa

    Thanks for your question.

    In those two sentences ‘tell’ and ‘share’ are verbs. Those two verbs should be changed to a noun or a gerund. In those two examples, gerunds are the best choice.

    “Thank you for share with me” is not correct. It should be, “Thank you for sharing with me.”

    “Thank you for tell me” is not correct. It should be, “Thank you for telling me.”

    Does that help you?

  3. oh ok thanks!

  4. bundle of thanks that is very helpful in my english

  5. I’m glad you found it useful, Muhammad. 🙂

  6. if I say that THANK YOU FOR BELIEVING ME .
    Is it correct?

  7. Yes, Bird. That’s correct. Well done. I think you understand now.

    Thanks for reading this blog entry and thanks for posting a question. 🙂

  8. Is there something difference in the meaning ‘thanks’ and ‘thank you’?

  9. Hello geunsig kim. No, there is no difference in meaning.

    However, thanks can be a bit less formal than thank you.

    Also, if we want to thank a third person we would not use thanks.

    For example:
    [correct] Please thank your father for taking me to the zoo.

    [not correct] Please thanks your father for taking me to the zoo


Leave a Reply

Categories

