Posted by: helpforyourenglish | January 12, 2011

During and While

During and While: What’s the difference?

These two words might seem similar, but notice how the two words are used differently.

..

It rains a lot during the winter.

I met Jane during the summer holidays

How many calories are burned during exercise?

During my travels in Egypt, I met a lot of interesting people.

Women shouldn’t smoke or take drugs during pregnancy

Francesco  Scoglio died of a heart attack during a discussion on a TV sports show.

American guitarist Darrell Abbott was murdered on stage during a live show in Ohio.

.

While I was walking home, it started to rain.

I met Jane while I was on holiday in Italy

How many calories did I burn while I was exercising?

While I was traveling in Egypt, I met a lot of interesting people.

WWF wrestler Owen Hart died while performing a stunt.

Crocodile Hunter Steve Irwin was killed while filming a documentary

American guitarist Darrell Abbott was murdered on stage while performing in Ohio.

..

Did you notice the difference?

..

During is followed by a noun phrase

While is followed by a verb phrase

.

Now show yourself that you understand.

Choose the best word, during or while.

.

1. Food was hard to get ____________ the war

2. ____________ you were sleeping, I washed the dishes.

3. Comedian Tommy Cooper suffered a heart attack ____________ he was performing live on TV.

4. Comedian Tommy Cooper suffered a heart attack ____________ a live performance on TV.

.


Leave a Reply

Categories

